NameWiz Stopped Working

With NameWiz, you can rename files en-masse in either a single folder or all sub folders. Change the file extension, make all names lower/upper case, replace, remove, insert, delete, move or swap characters, add prefixes and suffixes, or replace the names altogether with sequential names of your choosing.
Post Reply
aeikenberry
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 2:49 pm

NameWiz Stopped Working

Post by aeikenberry » Tue Nov 01, 2011 2:51 pm

Hello. After a recent uninstall/reinstall on Windows 7, NameWiz 4.11 will start up, but then immediately stop working, before anything can be pressed.

If you cancel the 'stopped working' dialog, the following error appears:

Exception ERegistry Exception in module NameWiz.exe at 00019A3E. Failed to set data for ''.


I have tried everything I can think of to remedy, but nothing has done it. Please advise.

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1847
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: NameWiz Stopped Working

Post by Support » Tue Nov 01, 2011 3:46 pm

Run it as "Administrator" (right click, "Run as administrator") and it should work. It happens rarely, and we think it's Win7 security settings and/or anti-virus related. You can also try to disable DEP.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

rbos
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:46 pm

Re: NameWiz Stopped Working

Post by rbos » Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:48 pm

Hello,

I am also seeing this problem on several machines recently updated to Windows 7. Running as administrator works, but is extremely not acceptable for the temporary staff.

Please advise.

pszilard
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 6:04 pm

Re: NameWiz Stopped Working

Post by pszilard » Thu Aug 30, 2012 6:15 pm

Support wrote:Run it as "Administrator" (right click, "Run as administrator") and it should work. It happens rarely, and we think it's Win7 security settings and/or anti-virus related. You can also try to disable DEP.
I am experiencing the same proble. Except neither running as Administrator, nor running in XP Compatibility, mode works. This means that the program is totally unusable!

I would love to hear how to fix this, ASAP.

Thanks in advance,

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1847
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: NameWiz Stopped Working

Post by Support » Thu Aug 30, 2012 6:18 pm

The only solution we have found is, turn on/off DEP, or check your anti-virus, Norton is known to create this problem. There is something else which interfer with NW, and it is not something we can fix if the problem is now directly from NW.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

pszilard
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 6:04 pm

Re: NameWiz Stopped Working

Post by pszilard » Thu Aug 30, 2012 7:07 pm

Turning off DEP worked for me.

AV had no effect and neither did UAC.

As no other program seems to have this problem, I can only suppose that a programming change must be possible to make NameWiz work with DEP. Perhaps seeking advise from Microsoft might help. I would really encourage the developers to make this fix, as it is a major distraction from an otherwise excellent and unique tool.

Cheers,

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1847
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: NameWiz Stopped Working

Post by Support » Thu Aug 30, 2012 7:12 pm

I know what you mean, but for another user, he had to turn on DEP for it to work, just the opposite of you, so this makes it very difficult to know what's going on, let alone fixing it.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

pszilard
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 6:04 pm

Re: NameWiz Stopped Working

Post by pszilard » Thu Aug 30, 2012 7:16 pm

All the more reason to fix it! Anyway, I will leave it it your hands, but don't let your tool fall into disrepute! Good luck, my friend.

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1847
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: NameWiz Stopped Working

Post by Support » Thu Aug 30, 2012 7:18 pm

Indeed ;)
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

brough
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 7:55 am

Re: NameWiz Stopped Working

Post by brough » Fri Jun 26, 2015 8:02 am

I too have this problem. One moment it was working just as it has done for years, next error message. See image.

Tried everything. Rebooted, uninstalled and reinstalled twice, downloaded fresh copy and tried again, updated Windows 7 and tried again. Nada. Broken.

Not prepared to try the suggestion of turning off security. Could try running in Admin mode but it would be very boring to have to do that each time. I usually run the program via a batch file.
Attachments
Namewiz-errror.jpg
Namewiz-errror.jpg (86.75 KiB) Viewed 16273 times

brough
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 7:55 am

Re: NameWiz Stopped Working

Post by brough » Fri Jun 26, 2015 8:08 am

I must add that this first occurred, I think, after I visited a site which left an iSeek popup behind, one of the worst browser toolbar virus-type apps I've ever had the misfortune to encounter. I closed it immediately, and ran Malwarebytes. No indication of infection.

brough
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 7:55 am

Re: NameWiz Stopped Working

Post by brough » Fri Jun 26, 2015 8:14 am

I did this:
To set the program to run as administrator in Windows 7:

Right click on the program shortcut.
Choose "Properties."
Click on the "Compatibility" tab.
Place check mark in the box labeled "Run this program as an administrator."
Click OK.

The program should now run properly.

And it works!

Post Reply