my first renderings

Raylectron (http://Raylectron.com) is a 3D rendering engine for Trimble Sketchup (http://sketchup.com)
3dstructures
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 5:55 am

my first renderings

Post by 3dstructures »

Hello

I have sucseed in my first rendering. i thought i try some special ones

some world trade center models i have build in the past

hope you al like it. this program rocks.
1 World Trade Center Sign front.png
1 World Trade Center Sign front.png (971.96 KiB) Viewed 22913 times
1 World Trade Center Sign front.png
1 World Trade Center Sign front.png (971.96 KiB) Viewed 22913 times
Attachments
wtc plaza original 1.png
wtc plaza original 1.png (1.52 MiB) Viewed 22912 times

3dstructures
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 5:55 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by 3dstructures »

this render dit run for almost 2 hours. but not all black dots are gone. is there a way to get rit of them faster?
plasma reactor tower mockup r4.png
plasma reactor tower mockup r4.png (1.87 MiB) Viewed 22908 times

User avatar
Alienizer
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 11:41 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by Alienizer »

Your first time? wow, really nice for your first time.

What did you use for the sky? I like the clouds!

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1884
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by Support »

3dstructures wrote:this render dit run for almost 2 hours. but not all black dots are gone. is there a way to get rit of them faster?
I would make your windows 0% transparent, color to black, and 20% shine. I would also set the path depth to 2 not more than that. The speed will also depend on how many CPU threads (cores) you have, and if you have a very good video card, you use the GPU+CPU version of Raylectron v3 instead of the CPU only version.

But it's impressive for your first render! Once you know more tricks, like normal maps, environment maps etc, they'll look even better. Like Alienizer said, I like the clouds! how did you do the sky?
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

3dstructures
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 5:55 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by 3dstructures »

I have a 6core 1024mb video card

the sky was made bij skydomes i found on google

what do i do if i want to see the interior of a floor. do i get those black spots back than?

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1884
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by Support »

1024mb video card sounds not that good. But 6 cores gives you 12 threads (check the menu bar it should show you).

You have to remember that the more a ray has to bounce around, the longer it will take. If you want to see the inside, this means the light will have to go in and bounce off the interior walls to illuminate them, taking more time of course. You can also try the "Fast shadow" or better yet, "Ambient Occlusion" option which is much faster than "True shadows" and will get rid of the grain faster, but the shadows may not look as real and you may have to adjust the intensity of the shadows so they look right. But for an outdoor scene like this, I think it may work out faster with little noticeable differences from "True shadows".

If you have one or more computers on your network, you can setup slaves to render way faster.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

3dstructures
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 5:55 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by 3dstructures »

the menu shows 6. but i can type other valeu?
im test rendering something big now

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1884
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by Support »

oh, then you have only 6 threads, setting it to more will not speedup anything, it is there to use less so you can do other things while it renders. Your CPU doesn't appear to support multi-threading, so 6 cores = 6 threads. I personally have a 4 core CPU but I have 8 threads, it's an Intel CPU supporting multi-threading.

For you skydome, did you load it as an environment map? or did you create an hemisphere around your model and textured it?
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

3dstructures
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 5:55 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by 3dstructures »

i load it as map

a few years ago they asked me to build the former wtc in 3d for usage as gta4 mod.
as a mod it never made it. but it looks very realistic now in the renderer. this image is after 20min of rendering
im stil letting it render to get rit of the grain. i was hoping to make some animations with this program.
but before i do that i buy some more cooling so it can run for a week :D
baseplate wtc 0.4 gta render 1.png
baseplate wtc 0.4 gta render 1.png (1.03 MiB) Viewed 22900 times

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1884
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by Support »

So you contributed in the design in gta4? very nice, and indeed, this one looks more realistic, you definitely know what you're doing. Just wait till the grains are gone and it will look real.

This looks really nice for just 20 minutes considering all the glass everywhere and the shininess of other materials. Perhaps let it run all night before going to bed, in the morning, it will be perfectly rendered without a single dot.

But if you really want speed, get an ATI HD7990 video card and use Raylectron v4, it's incredibly fast. Your model will render dot free in minutes, not hours, and definitely worth it for animations.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

3dstructures
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 5:55 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by 3dstructures »

if that video card isnt to expencive i wil do that.

this is the system info. maibe you know some tricks to speed some things up?
sys info.png
sys info.png (40.75 KiB) Viewed 22896 times

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1884
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by Support »

Not much we can do with this one, it's 2.8ghz cpu while mine is 3.4ghz and overclocked to 3.8ghz

What about your video card? any info on this one? maybe it'll work better using it, but depend which one you have.

Thanks for uploading to the gallery, this one is a huge render, and it looks really nice.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

3dstructures
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 5:55 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by 3dstructures »

AMD Radeon HD 5770 driver ver 8.70 for Win 7 32/64 & Vista 32/64

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1884
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by Support »

Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

3dstructures
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 5:55 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by 3dstructures »

oo lol. i never opened my pc. so i dont know how it looks like.
because im using sometimes huge models. image that one wtc tower is having allot of faces.
i think i can better buy a newer and bigger card for my pc.

than instal new drivers and ishould be oke i hope

maibe there are some more boosters like direct x to speed it up. my head going more in drawing than pc functionality

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1884
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by Support »

Regardless, the HD5770 has 800 stream processors. Not that good for v4, but for v3 it will speed up the render quite a bit. So what you should do is download the GPU+CPU version instead of just the CPU version. In the "Render Settings", you'll have a new checkbox option to turn ON/OFF the GPU assisted rendering.

Here is the link to download it for 64bit machines...
http://raylectron.com/Raylectron_Setup_Win64_GCPU.exe

We will soon release another update for v3 which will make renders faster yet. We always optimize for speed as much as possible.

It doesn't use DirectX but the GPU one uses OpenCL which should already be installed if you have the latest driver.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

3dstructures
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 5:55 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by 3dstructures »

ray1.png
ray1.png (812.81 KiB) Viewed 22889 times
i already have that version installed. good to know wen new updates for speed are on it way

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1884
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by Support »

You indeed do have it. And looking at the render, it's almost grain free when zooming on it, but at normal size, it's very nice. May I suggest you take a look at the free HDRI environment maps from OpenFootage...

http://www.openfootage.net/?cat=15

They are all free, get the biggest in byte size and the largest in pixels, and only get the .hdr files not the jpg. They are absolutely awesome and will make your render look real because they provide real environment, not just a blue sky and a green ground. They are much better quality than sky domes.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

3dstructures
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 5:55 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by 3dstructures »

on the site they say i have to pay for each one.

im gonna search on it later. but good one..

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1884
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by Support »

They accept donations yes, but you don't have to pay to download them. Click on the link that says download as zip the .hdr and it will bring you to another window and enter the anti-spam text to download, and/or the PayPal link to donate.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

3dstructures
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 5:55 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by 3dstructures »

dollars.png
dollars.png (1.16 MiB) Viewed 22881 times
in the netherlands only the sun and the wet weather is for free.
if i see al that i think. wy didnt i stay in nyc. :P

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1884
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by Support »

:shock: that's weird, it's not free for your area but it is for me, maybe you should connect to a US proxy so you can get them for free :lol: ...
oh, I just noticed, 20% VAT??? no kidding!!! ouch!
Attachments
2014-05-15_195703.jpg
2014-05-15_195703.jpg (787.12 KiB) Viewed 22879 times
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1884
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by Support »

...wait a minute, I have to pay as well. I just noticed that the highlighted link was the lowres on mine and the hires on yours. When I click the hires, I got to pay as well. It's news to me because just about a month or two ago, I got the newest ones, I have all of them fortunately before they decided to charge for them.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

3dstructures
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 5:55 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by 3dstructures »

oo oke. lol.
the rendering looks smoother now. tommorow i wil upload some more.

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1884
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: my first renderings

Post by Support »

Great, I can't hardly wait to see your work. I appreciate you sharing it. You may want to setup your signature and expose yourself (search engine will pick it up too) to others so they may contact you for some work they need done. Reading your post in the other thread, designing a house must be a piece of cake for you.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

Post Reply