CPU or Videocard?

Raylectron (http://Raylectron.com) is a 3D rendering engine for Trimble Sketchup (http://sketchup.com)
swissdude
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:05 am
Location: Switzerland, lucerne

CPU or Videocard?

Post by swissdude » Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:51 am

hi all

so as from the post below you know the size of my render, my computer with the CPU version takes round 2 hours for that. if i use the video-card version it would crash a few times and take a night for the job.

is that ok or would i be able to expect a much better performance with a pro video-card?



i am running windows 8, details in the attached pic

thanks, patrick
Attachments
My Computer.jpg
My Computer.jpg (25.06 KiB) Viewed 27356 times

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by Support » Wed Nov 19, 2014 3:14 pm

It all depend on the video card you have and how much video memory it has. it also depend on how many Cuda cores / stream processors the card has. What is the make and model of your video card?
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

swissdude
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:05 am
Location: Switzerland, lucerne

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by swissdude » Fri Nov 21, 2014 5:24 am

hi!

thanks, here the details.

i am quite happy with the CPU version - way way better for me than the GPU one.

pls dont tell me my video card is shit - i just got the computer... and told the seller its for rendering :evil:

thanks, patrick
Attachments
video card.jpg
video card.jpg (96.11 KiB) Viewed 27340 times

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by Support » Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:15 am

Yes, the GT640 video card is no good for rendering, but it's very good for games.

The GTX-780 is very good for rendering.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

swissdude
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:05 am
Location: Switzerland, lucerne

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by swissdude » Fri Nov 21, 2014 12:59 pm

thabks, great to know.

i dont play games.. :oops:

patrick

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by Support » Fri Nov 21, 2014 1:16 pm

If you don't play games then the guy who sold you this computer give you something for games not rendering.

If you want a good rendering system, you should be using an i7-5820K processor (6 cores, 12 threads) using DDR4-2133 as your RAM and a GTX-780 (2304 stream processors) or better video card. Then you can use both, the CPU on huge models and the GPU version for smaller models.

What you have as a CPU, i7-4770 can not be overclocked and it's only DDR3-1600 and 4 cores 8 threads, very slow for rendering and outdated.

The i7-5820K can be overclocked to even 4.6 GHZ
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

swissdude
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:05 am
Location: Switzerland, lucerne

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by swissdude » Fri Nov 21, 2014 3:45 pm

uff bad news, i will try to give this POS back then :evil:

thanks for your help, now i know what i need!

patrick

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by Support » Fri Nov 21, 2014 4:45 pm

If you are going to get something else, you are welcome to let me know what you're getting and I can let you know if it's good or not.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

swissdude
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:05 am
Location: Switzerland, lucerne

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by swissdude » Fri Nov 21, 2014 5:36 pm

wow, great offer - thx!

here are the specs of the PC i have in mind, its a gaming PC but the specs look great! ( to me :roll: )

Intel Core I7 5820K Haswell-E 6x 3.600 Mhz
CPU-Kühler Thermaltake Frio Silent
16 GB Ram DDR4 2400 Mhz Ram Quad-Channel
1000 GB Sata3.0 6Gb/s 64MB 7200U/min Festplatte
22 x Super Multi DVD Brenner LG
Nvidia Geforce GTX 970 4GB MSI Gaming 4G
Geforce Experience, GPU-Boost 2.0, HDMI
MSI Gaming Twin Frozr V, OC-Edition, Gaming APP
Mainboard MSI X99S SLI Plus (4-Wege SLI)
OC Genie4, Click-Bios 4, Fast Boot, Turbo M.2 SSD
Sata Express, Guard-Pro, OC-Engine, Intel GB-Lan
Thermaltake Core V31 Gaming Tower
2 x Turbo 120 mm Lüfter Front USB 3.0 Seitenfenster
630 Watt Thermaltake 80+


attached a render i am just on - it has 25 lights... so i guess for a big render i will have round 100 lights.. i need round 3-4h just for this to get nice


thanks patrick
Attachments
small render.jpg
small render.jpg (91.36 KiB) Viewed 27330 times

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by Support » Fri Nov 21, 2014 5:57 pm

Great choice ;) I would get the GTX-690 instead (3072 Cuda cores, dual GPU, 4GB). The GTX970 only has 1644 Cuda cores
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by Support » Fri Nov 21, 2014 5:58 pm

WOW, this looks VERY nice!!! Looks like a photograph!
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

swissdude
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:05 am
Location: Switzerland, lucerne

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by swissdude » Fri Nov 21, 2014 6:34 pm

thx :)

it is a great program.

nice info, thanks. i will ask the computer guy.

patrick

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by Support » Fri Nov 21, 2014 6:38 pm

>it is a great program.
Thanks but...

You're a great designer, and that's the most important part.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

swissdude
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:05 am
Location: Switzerland, lucerne

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by swissdude » Fri Nov 21, 2014 6:40 pm

8-)

swissdude
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:05 am
Location: Switzerland, lucerne

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by swissdude » Sat Nov 22, 2014 2:17 pm

hi! the videocard you recomend is no longer avalible - any other suggestiuon? (GTX 690)

thanks, patrick

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by Support » Sat Nov 22, 2014 3:11 pm

GTX Titan Z (5760 cores, 12GB) but if it cost too much, the GTX-980 is very good (2048 cores).
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

swissdude
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:05 am
Location: Switzerland, lucerne

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by swissdude » Sat Nov 22, 2014 4:51 pm

nice, thx!

swissdude
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:05 am
Location: Switzerland, lucerne

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by swissdude » Mon Nov 24, 2014 5:16 am

hi!

so i ordered a nice computer.

how can i take the key for your program from this computer to the other? i should receive it in round a week or so.

thx, patrick

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by Support » Mon Nov 24, 2014 11:38 am

Hi,

You can simply register it on the new computer using the same code.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

swissdude
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:05 am
Location: Switzerland, lucerne

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by swissdude » Mon Nov 24, 2014 11:50 am

hey

great -thanks!

patrick

pasca
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 4:16 pm

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by pasca » Tue Jan 13, 2015 3:30 pm

Hi Michael,
please can you recommend specifications for a very high end desktop computer for animation, i would like to build one......thanks.
graphics card, processor type,the type of ram and capacity, etc...thanks once more.

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by Support » Tue Jan 13, 2015 4:17 pm

Hi,

I would go for an Asus X99-A motherboard with an I7-5820K CPU (which you can overclock to 4.6ghz with the proper cooling) and 32GB of low latency DDR4/2133 RAM. The CPU is 6 cores so 12 threads. It's very fast to render, but if you want even more speed depending on the scene, the GTX-Titan Z has 5760 stream processors, so that's very, very fast, and, it has 12GB of GDDR5 so you can load very big models.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

pasca
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 4:16 pm

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by pasca » Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:30 am

thank you for the info, but, for the Asus X99-A motherboard with an I7-5820K CPU, what graphics card is needed or does it come integrated
in it? and for the GTX-Titan Z, will it go along the Asus X99-A motherboard with an I7-5820K CPU?.....thank you.

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by Support » Wed Jan 14, 2015 11:17 am

No integrated graphics and the Titan-z is fully compatible with both.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

swissdude
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:05 am
Location: Switzerland, lucerne

Re: CPU or Videocard?

Post by swissdude » Mon Jan 19, 2015 8:00 am

hi!

so i finally had time to install the new computer i got just for rendering with the GTX 980

wow, crazy fast. i mean crazy crazy fast :)

great support - 1000 thanks, patrick

Post Reply