Bad mapping

Raylectron (http://Raylectron.com) is a 3D rendering engine for Trimble Sketchup (http://sketchup.com)
Post Reply
NPS
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 10:42 pm

Bad mapping

Post by NPS » Wed Sep 16, 2015 6:18 am

I am trying to render a mound of grass that was created from contours. It maps badly so the image is completely unacceptable. Is there a work around?

Cheers

ramthecowy
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:38 am

Re: Bad mapping

Post by ramthecowy » Wed Sep 16, 2015 11:55 am

I can't answer your question but it may help someone who can if you shared a picture of what you're seeing.
Cheers, mate.

Have a good day.

NPS
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 10:42 pm

Re: Bad mapping

Post by NPS » Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:50 pm

Pias reject.png
Pias reject.png (2.13 MiB) Viewed 6305 times
Potential pias reject.png
Potential pias reject.png (1.6 MiB) Viewed 6305 times

No worries, I have attached the rendered image and the SKP screen shot.

Cheers.

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1830
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Bad mapping

Post by Support » Wed Sep 16, 2015 9:00 pm

I think what happen here is that you have double the faces. If you can PM me the SKP file, I can quickly find out, or, you can try to delete one of the face and see if there is a hole or not, if not, you have double faces occupying the exact same space. It's like doing a copy on an object and paste it several time at the same place, it still look like there is only one but there are more than one.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

NPS
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 10:42 pm

Re: Bad mapping

Post by NPS » Wed Sep 16, 2015 9:18 pm

Hmm OK but the model is 280 MB, can I attach a model that big?. I am aware of double faces and to check I just clicked on a number of them and deleted there is nothing underneath. Only single faces as far as I can tell

Cheers

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1830
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Bad mapping

Post by Support » Wed Sep 16, 2015 9:33 pm

ok so there is something else. Yes, you can send it in the PM (private message), it'll be smaller if you first ZIP it. If you can also include the CFG (settings file) along with it so I can have your Raylectron settings for that model it will help too.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

NPS
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 10:42 pm

Re: Bad mapping

Post by NPS » Wed Sep 16, 2015 10:08 pm

Will do that as soon as I can. Thank you.

I am getting a "cleaning up" Raylectron window. What is that?


Cheers

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1830
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Bad mapping

Post by Support » Wed Sep 16, 2015 10:15 pm

That window shows up after the export because it allocate memory (along other things) for the export and then it free it all. It simply tells you what it's doing so you don't think it's not doing anything.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

Post Reply