Crash when using high resolution (4K)

Raylectron (http://Raylectron.com) is a 3D rendering engine for Trimble Sketchup (http://sketchup.com)
Post Reply
Rene
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 3:00 am

Crash when using high resolution (4K)

Post by Rene » Sun Aug 27, 2017 5:05 am

Hello,

Rendering goes well on medium resolutions like 1920x1080. When I set the resolution to 4K (3840x2160) then Raylectron just crashed without any messages. The memory indicator reports 56% free memory. Can I turn on a log or something to see wy the crash occurs?

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Crash when using high resolution (4K)

Post by Support » Sun Aug 27, 2017 9:40 am

What does it do when it crash if no message is displayed?
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

Rene
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 3:00 am

Re: Crash when using high resolution (4K)

Post by Rene » Sun Aug 27, 2017 2:10 pm

The Raylectron window just disappears.

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Crash when using high resolution (4K)

Post by Support » Sun Aug 27, 2017 2:42 pm

ok, can I connect with you using TeamViewer?
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

Dknight
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 12:07 pm

Re: Crash when using high resolution (4K)

Post by Dknight » Mon Aug 28, 2017 3:12 pm

I use raylectron V4.99 x64 for CPU and run on a 4k monitor without issues.

Rene
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 3:00 am

Re: Crash when using high resolution (4K)

Post by Rene » Sun Sep 03, 2017 12:59 pm

Support wrote:
Sun Aug 27, 2017 2:42 pm
ok, can I connect with you using TeamViewer?
Yes, you can. Which version? When would it suit you?

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Crash when using high resolution (4K)

Post by Support » Sun Sep 03, 2017 7:15 pm

Rene wrote:
Sun Sep 03, 2017 12:59 pm
Support wrote:
Sun Aug 27, 2017 2:42 pm
ok, can I connect with you using TeamViewer?
Yes, you can. Which version? When would it suit you?
Just the latest they have on their site and at anytime you like. Just send me a PM, do not post login data here.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Crash when using high resolution (4K)

Post by Support » Sun Sep 03, 2017 7:16 pm

Dknight wrote:
Mon Aug 28, 2017 3:12 pm
I use raylectron V4.99 x64 for CPU and run on a 4k monitor without issues.
Thanks David
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

Rene
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 3:00 am

Re: Crash when using high resolution (4K)

Post by Rene » Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:32 am

huneyman wrote:
Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:13 am
same problem facing here
For me it turned out to be a memory problem. I used the GPU render which had not enough memory (2Gb) for the larger renders. CPU rendering works well.

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Crash when using high resolution (4K)

Post by Support » Wed Sep 13, 2017 12:03 pm

Yes, it's all about memory. You have to remember that on the GPU (video card), its memory is used by Windows to display your Desktop, then, for the render, the render image which uses much more memory than your Desktop image do because the accuracy is float not RGB limited to 256 shades per color, then, there is all the textures, env map, normal map, bump map, static bgnd and the code itself and buffers too. To calculate the amount of memory just the rendered image alone use is width*height*128 so if you render at 4000x3000, it's use 1.5 GB of your video card memory, and that's only for the rendered image internal buffer.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

Nick1
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 9:40 pm

Re: Crash when using high resolution (4K)

Post by Nick1 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 12:57 pm

Good to know you still exist.

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Crash when using high resolution (4K)

Post by Support » Wed Sep 13, 2017 1:14 pm

Nick1 wrote:
Wed Sep 13, 2017 12:57 pm
Good to know you still exist.
Raylectron isn't going anywhere anytime soon!
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

Nick1
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 9:40 pm

Re: Crash when using high resolution (4K)

Post by Nick1 » Thu Sep 14, 2017 1:39 pm

Are you Michael?
Thanks,
Nick

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Crash when using high resolution (4K)

Post by Support » Thu Sep 14, 2017 2:57 pm

One of the 3 Michaels' yes!
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

Dknight
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 12:07 pm

Re: Crash when using high resolution (4K)

Post by Dknight » Thu Sep 14, 2017 2:58 pm

I hope that you're not all answering as "support" - or else I've had some really strange conversations! :)

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Crash when using high resolution (4K)

Post by Support » Thu Sep 14, 2017 3:06 pm

no, only in public here. not in the PMs or emails.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

Nick1
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 9:40 pm

Re: Crash when using high resolution (4K)

Post by Nick1 » Fri Sep 15, 2017 1:10 pm

Well thanks for clarifying that. So is Michael Smith around?

Thanks again.

Nick

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Crash when using high resolution (4K)

Post by Support » Fri Sep 15, 2017 1:52 pm

You're welcome. No he isn't, he's out of the country right now and no ETA on his return.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

Nick1
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 9:40 pm

Re: Crash when using high resolution (4K)

Post by Nick1 » Sat Sep 16, 2017 1:19 pm

Thanks much. No wonder I wasn't getting any emails from him. Hope all is ok with him.

Best,

Nick

Post Reply