Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Raylectron (http://Raylectron.com) is a 3D rendering engine for Trimble Sketchup (http://sketchup.com)
ArchitectDomain
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 10:40 am

Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by ArchitectDomain »

Hello,
As the title says, my Raylectron doesn't start anymore after updating to SketchUp Pro 2019 version 19.2.222 64-bit.
I've downloaded and reinstalled the ruby file, but nothing helps.
Am I the only one having this problem or is it a general thing?

Thanks.
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1899
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by Support »

It does work for 2019 so something else isn't right. Have you ever install it using the exe file or always the rbz?
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
ArchitectDomain
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 10:40 am

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by ArchitectDomain »

It does work for 2019 so something else isn't right. Have you ever install it using the exe file or always the rbz?
I tried both. The buttons appear in SketchUp but nothing happens when pressing them.
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1899
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by Support »

ok, let me PM you...
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
pongo
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 1:54 pm

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by pongo »

I have the same problem after Upgrading to 2019.2.......
not working in sketchup........working in the stand allon
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1899
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by Support »

I'll PM you too...
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
michaeljensen
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2019 7:46 am

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by michaeljensen »

Raylectron no longer works for me either in the new Sketchup update 2019.2.

Why is a response not posted in the forum? PM is the only way ?
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1899
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by Support »

This new version of Sketchup 2019.2 removed something that makes our render no longer work. We are working of fixing it. In the mean time, you need to go back to the last version of Sketchup so you can keep on working. If you like, you can download the Sketchup 2019 folder that works, go to your c:\program files\Sketchup folder and rename "Sketchup 2019" to "Sketchup 2019 backup" and extract the downloaded zip to the c:\program files\Sketchup folder.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
kirpon
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 6:09 am

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by kirpon »

Hi,
I have the same problem with this renderer.
When will it be possibile to fix it?
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1899
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by Support »

we are working on it, in the mean time, refer to the post above yours for the temporary fix.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
kirpon
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 6:09 am

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by kirpon »

Support wrote: Sat Aug 03, 2019 12:25 pm we are working on it, in the mean time, refer to the post above yours for the temporary fix.
Thanks for the answer, I'll wait for fix.
danraymond
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 2:32 am

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by danraymond »

Hello,

I am having the same issue. Will try the fix for now. Any update on a permanent solution?

Thank you
Dan
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1899
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by Support »

We are still working on it, Skp 2019.2 have removed the core api to export, now we have to re-write the code to use the new api.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
danraymond
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 2:32 am

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by danraymond »

Suggestion:

If you are rewriting the code (big thank you) how about adding the option in the file open tab to open .skp files as well as ROF and OBJ files since if this was the case I could continue to use Raylectron stand alone on saved files.

If that was easy , maybe do that first on current code and release and update to give you time to sort new code?

thank you
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1899
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by Support »

Yes that is exactly what we are doing.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
danraymond
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 2:32 am

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by danraymond »

Hi Support,

How is this going?

Thank you

Dan
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1899
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by Support »

it's about 50% complete. Another week of two and it'll be ready. We're also making changes to the render engine.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1899
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by Support »

We finally got it working. You can download (attached below) and try it out.

One major change beside compatibility with skp2019.2 is the artificial lights are now using the light surface area, so the smaller the light the more power you have to give it. You can also offset the light surface area so to reduce proximity bright spots.

For indoor scenes using the sky or environment map, it is recommended you use portals in your openings to the outside so not to render the inside as if it was outside. Portals are are also used for proper indoor illumination.

In overall, this version produces much nicer renders.

Please leave feedback, thank you.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
kirpon
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 6:09 am

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by kirpon »

Hi, But it uses only threads, as cpu version, it not works as gpu!
It renders much faster as gpu ver. When it will be repaired?
Reg.
Kate.
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1899
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by Support »

We are making the GPU version right now, it'll be ready within the hour.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1899
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by Support »

It's officialy ready now and you can download it from the Raylectron Download page.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
michaeljensen
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2019 7:46 am

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by michaeljensen »

I worked with the new Download for Raylectron 4 all day today without issue.
It performed beautifully!!
Thank You!!
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1899
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by Support »

Great, but we just updated the download because we fixed a few reported bugs so you may want to re-download it again, make sure you don't download the version in your browser's cache.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
kirpon
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 6:09 am

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by kirpon »

Support wrote: Mon Sep 09, 2019 6:00 pm It's officialy ready now and you can download it from the Raylectron Download page.
GREAT!! Thank You so much!!!

Reg.
Kate.
michaeljensen
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2019 7:46 am

Re: Raylectron 4 extension not starting anymore

Post by michaeljensen »

LOL ... now that I have downloaded the latest version - (09-10) I have a bug.
Some of my textures in the render window are not the same scale as they are in Sketchup.
Not a huge problem....I can re-scale in Raylectron.
Post Reply