subdomain filters

BlackWidow scans websites (it's a site ripper). It can download an entire website, or download portions of a site.
Post Reply
avalanch
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 11:31 am

subdomain filters

Post by avalanch »

Hi there I'm still on blackwidow 5.22 (the one I bought years ago lol). How can I setup a filter so that it does not crawl these areas?

wiki.site.com/*
forum.site.com/*

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1879
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: subdomain filters

Post by Support »

Here is a screen shot of the filters you need (click it to make it big)...
BW5.png
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

avalanch
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 11:31 am

Re: subdomain filters

Post by avalanch »

Thanks for that, I've been making it try to crawl after installing winpcap 4.12 (noticed it asked for 4.02 after the install...) and it doesn't want to save any pages. It looks at one page & quits. Doesn't even save it. The site has .html links all over the place, no dynamic parameters that would throw it off (like... posting.php?mode=reply&f=1&t=91) would.. I think that what I have to do is uninstall blackwidow, install pcap 4.02 and then reinstall blackwidow 5.22.. Would I be doing this the right way or is there another proper way to go about this?

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1879
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: subdomain filters

Post by Support »

When you install v5 I think it automatically instal WinPCap 4.02 but installing v4.12 over 4.02 should still work because BW doesn't use WinPCap to download, it's only used by the BW NetSpy. So I think there is something else in the BW settings, or even IE, that's not set right.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

avalanch
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 11:31 am

Re: subdomain filters

Post by avalanch »

Ah it uses internet explorer then... I have that disabled by default (turn windows features on or off) in the windows 7 control panel. Since I use chrome & firefox only.

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1879
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: subdomain filters

Post by Support »

Turning IE of is really not turning it off because if you open ny folder and type in a URL in the address bar as open to a drive path, it'll show the web page. There is nothing wrong to leave it on and use anything browser, but I suggest never turn off IE because many software rely on it's com interface, such as BW.

Have you tried BW with IE on?
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

Post Reply