rename invalid filename

With NameWiz, you can rename files en-masse in either a single folder or all sub folders. Change the file extension, make all names lower/upper case, replace, remove, insert, delete, move or swap characters, add prefixes and suffixes, or replace the names altogether with sequential names of your choosing.
Post Reply
zwieback
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:18 am

rename invalid filename

Post by zwieback » Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:30 am

I tried to rename the following filename (windows vista 32bit)
date-CSI: Miami.mts
the problem is how to remove the colon in a filename itself?

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1821
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: rename invalid filename

Post by Support » Wed Apr 04, 2012 9:06 am

Go to the Replace/Remove tab and then click on Remove, and then put in the colon in the "This:" field. The preview on the right should show the file names without a colon in them. Click on Apply the make the changes. Then you can continue to rename them as you see fit.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

zwieback
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:18 am

Re: rename invalid filename

Post by zwieback » Thu Apr 05, 2012 2:20 am

....Click on Apply the make the changes.
I already tried this.
All that happens is a small poup that shows "1 Error" and nothing changes!
It seems that windows refuses to find the name to change?
Is there a entry in the registry that deals with the filenames?

The file origins from a sat-reciever which can only change the files with the ending mts but not mts1, mts2 etc.
I do not know what OS is working in the reciever, might a rename with Linux help??
(I currently have no Linux working....)

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1821
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: rename invalid filename

Post by Support » Thu Apr 05, 2012 8:07 am

Does the file names with a colon in them showing in the NameWiz window?
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

zwieback
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:18 am

Re: rename invalid filename

Post by zwieback » Thu Apr 05, 2012 9:51 am

The filenames old and new show correct in the NameWiz window but the modification does not happen.
btw. the software update did not work. I try to reload 4.11 from SofyByteLabs.com
I now started 4.11 and the error remains.
The line at the bottom shows:
Report--> Files: 0 error; 1 valid / Folders: 0 error; 0 valid / Create: 0 error; 0 valid

the original filename o be changed:
SIXX-24032012-1345-Jamies 30 Minuten Menüs: Gen....mts1
and
RTL_Television-04042012-0119-CSI: Miami.mts1
the lated shows as new (remove both (or single)  and : )
RTL_Television-04042012-0119-CSI Miami.mts1

changing .mts1 to .mts would be enough......

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1821
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: rename invalid filename

Post by Support » Thu Apr 05, 2012 10:14 am

Well, all renaming are passed to Windows to do it, so if Windows can't do it, so NamwWiz. Can you rename one manually?
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

zwieback
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:18 am

Re: rename invalid filename

Post by zwieback » Thu Apr 05, 2012 10:24 am

No.
That's why I tried NameWiz:
Do you know wheather Linux can handle those filenames?
or any other OS ??? The one in the reciever can, obviously, but how to manage on a PC......?

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1821
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: rename invalid filename

Post by Support » Thu Apr 05, 2012 1:23 pm

Yes, Linux can, because you can escape any characters, like this...

mv CSI\: Miami.mts1 CSI_ Miami.mts1

mv means move but in this context, it simply rename.

Windows can't use escape codes. One funny thing though in Windows is that it allows you to copy such file fom your receiver, but wont let you rename it if it has any illegal characters!

What you can do is zip all the files and upload the zip to a Linux server, run a shell and unzip, then rename, re-zip and download to your PC.

Or, you could install Linux on a partition on your HD along with Windows. You can tell Windows disk manager to release say, 1GB of HD space and unallocated it. Then install Linux on to it.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

Post Reply