Instancing - OpenGL problem in Performance mode

Raylectron (http://Raylectron.com) is a 3D rendering engine for Trimble Sketchup (http://sketchup.com)
Post Reply
szakul
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:42 pm

Instancing - OpenGL problem in Performance mode

Post by szakul » Fri Nov 27, 2015 4:10 pm

I have a problem with Performance mode using OpenGL when even one instance object is on the scene. The viewport is dark grey. No models. Only dark grey ground and standard sky. When no instance objects on the scene - everything is ok.

Graphic Card - AMD Radeon HD 6800
Drivers - 15.20.1062.1004

Solution? Thanks for help.

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1847
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Instancing - OpenGL problem in Performance mode

Post by Support » Fri Nov 27, 2015 4:32 pm

If you have the GPU version: Your card doesn't have that many stream processors, 1500+ is recommended and yours is less than 900. I suggest you install the CPU version instead because of the new "Grain free" rendering option it is faster than the GPU.

If you have the CPU version and try to use OpenGL in performance mode, it could be that you have section planes (even if not enabled) and in OpenGL mode, they are not cutting the model so you see only a wall for example. Have you tried zooming out, orbiting etc. ?
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

szakul
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:42 pm

Re: Instancing - OpenGL problem in Performance mode

Post by szakul » Fri Nov 27, 2015 4:45 pm

Ok. I made another test. On the scene with a few instance objects and a few regular objects - Only regular objects are rendered in OpenGL Performance mode. Instance objects are hidden.

I have a CPU version. My CPU is not a newest one. i5 760. 4 cores / 4 threads.

Do You think it might be a problem? Not enought threads.

User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1847
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Instancing - OpenGL problem in Performance mode

Post by Support » Fri Nov 27, 2015 5:01 pm

oh, you mean that you have created Raylectron Instances of objects? if so, they will not show in openGL, not yet anyway!

We are about to upload v4.80 (CPU version) and even with 4 cores/4 threads, it is very fast. If you can update your CPU to a 4cores/8 threads, it'll be much faster.

On one note, you have an Intel CPU so it's best to use an NVidia video card instead. AMD video cards with AMD CPUs.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com

szakul
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:42 pm

Re: Instancing - OpenGL problem in Performance mode

Post by szakul » Sat Nov 28, 2015 11:52 am

Yes. Exactly. Raylectron Instances of objects. So I have to wait to v4.80. Thank You for help. Problem solved. :)

Post Reply