Old render, new render house

Post Reply
User avatar
BKilburn
Posts: 470
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 7:09 pm

Old render, new render house

Post by BKilburn »

As it says in title. :D
Attachments
bungalow+2.jpg
bungalow+2.jpg (199.9 KiB) Viewed 483 times
bungalow+2b.jpg
bungalow+2b.jpg (272.66 KiB) Viewed 483 times
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3079
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Old render, new render house

Post by Support »

What a difference :o Did you just load the old and just rendered it or did you change anything?

You should have filled the terrain texture with the grass asset :D
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
BKilburn
Posts: 470
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 7:09 pm

Re: Old render, new render house

Post by BKilburn »

Support wrote: Tue Mar 26, 2024 12:09 am What a difference :o Did you just load the old and just rendered it or did you change anything?

You should have filled the terrain texture with the grass asset :D
Changed nothing but the grass.

I did use the grass texture. It looked bad. Tried to fiddle with it. Still looks bad. Going to try another render. Grass is still a problem on my PC.
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3079
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Old render, new render house

Post by Support »

For the terrain, in Sketchup, set a ground texture to the front face and set the back face to none. In Raylectron, load the "Tall Grass" asset, right click on the terrain so that the asset will be applied to all of the shapes that have that material, in this case, the terrain. Uncheck "Always up" so the grass can follow the curves of the terrain. Set the number of instances to a large number to cover the whole terrain until you don't really see the ground texture. If the grass is too tall, set the Z in Scale to 0.5 or less. This will give you a nice landscape.
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
BKilburn
Posts: 470
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 7:09 pm

Re: Old render, new render house

Post by BKilburn »

This is better. Just had to fiddle with the grass settings more. Ran out of time last night.
Attachments
bungalow+2b.jpg
bungalow+2b.jpg (269.69 KiB) Viewed 471 times
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3079
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Old render, new render house

Post by Support »

This looks good :salute Did you use the asset or converted to terrain texture to grass generated grass blades?
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
BKilburn
Posts: 470
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 7:09 pm

Re: Old render, new render house

Post by BKilburn »

Support wrote: Tue Mar 26, 2024 11:25 am This looks good :salute Did you use the asset or converted to terrain texture to grass generated grass blades?
I used the cloud texture and set the grass to 24" tall max, 18" tall min, per sq to .3, sections to 3 and made the color darker. Changed nothing else.
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3079
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Old render, new render house

Post by Support »

:salute
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
Okwa
Posts: 540
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2023 1:34 am

Re: Old render, new render house

Post by Okwa »

Nice, really nice. :salute
User avatar
BKilburn
Posts: 470
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 7:09 pm

Re: Old render, new render house

Post by BKilburn »

Okwa wrote: Wed Mar 27, 2024 6:38 am Nice, really nice. :salute
Thanks!
Okwa
Posts: 540
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2023 1:34 am

Re: Old render, new render house

Post by Okwa »

You're Welcome.
User avatar
BKilburn
Posts: 470
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 7:09 pm

Re: Old render, new render house

Post by BKilburn »

Slightly better grass. Made it taller and reduced per sq to from 0.3 to 0.25.
Attachments
bungalow+2b.jpg
bungalow+2b.jpg (271.19 KiB) Viewed 422 times
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3079
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Old render, new render house

Post by Support »

That's better Bryan, but let me tell you a trick, each blade will have the color of where it sits, so if you make your ground texture larger to show more variant, you'll have a more natural grass, even patches of dead grass if there is such thing in your texture. I use either one of these, maybe give them a try?
Attachments
travnik_256.jpg
travnik_256.jpg (103.59 KiB) Viewed 421 times
terrain_2.jpg
terrain_2.jpg (603.83 KiB) Viewed 421 times
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
BKilburn
Posts: 470
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 7:09 pm

Re: Old render, new render house

Post by BKilburn »

I was trying to find the tile controls for tile size but that part of the menu is cut off.

Here's what I see.
Attachments
menu.jpg
menu.jpg (68.95 KiB) Viewed 394 times
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3079
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Old render, new render house

Post by Support »

That's just weird! It doesn't cut off on mine. It the "Upward direction" check box. Are you using anything else than 100% for your Scale and Layout in Windows Display Settings?
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
BKilburn
Posts: 470
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 7:09 pm

Re: Old render, new render house

Post by BKilburn »

I checked and my monitor and display are set to 100%.

However, my text size is just slightly larger than default. Like, one step up from default. (I absolutely cannot read at default scale)
Mike
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 4:49 pm

Re: Old render, new render house

Post by Mike »

This is very impressive @BKilburn I wish to have a home like this.
User avatar
BKilburn
Posts: 470
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 7:09 pm

Re: Old render, new render house

Post by BKilburn »

Mike wrote: Sun Apr 14, 2024 2:55 pm This is very impressive @BKilburn I wish to have a home like this.
Thanks!

The model is from the 3D Warehouse (Trimble). I made some slight material changes and removed the trees and terrain that came with the model. I then added the hill and then and HDRI for the background and lighting.
Mike
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 4:49 pm

Re: Old render, new render house

Post by Mike »

BKilburn wrote: Fri Apr 19, 2024 9:33 pm
Mike wrote: Sun Apr 14, 2024 2:55 pm This is very impressive @BKilburn I wish to have a home like this.
Thanks!

The model is from the 3D Warehouse (Trimble). I made some slight material changes and removed the trees and terrain that came with the model. I then added the hill and then and HDRI for the background and lighting.
:salute
Post Reply