rendering

Raylectron (https://Raylectron.com) is a 3D rendering engine for Trimble Sketchup (https://sketchup.com)
Post Reply
Nick1
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 9:40 pm

rendering

Post by Nick1 »

Hello,

I have 4 strips of glass at 2.25 inches high each making a total of 9 inches. 2 pieces are frosted glass and 2 pieces are clear solid glass as materials. When I render them, it goes crazy like this and doesn't give me a clean rendering. I even tried to delete the top and bottom faces of the strips and still didn't do it. I guess somehow the reflections go crazy here or what?
Thanks much. Attached please find the rendering.
Attachments
register.JPG
register.JPG (206.25 KiB) Viewed 2428 times
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2050
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: rendering

Post by Support »

Hi,

I assume you are talking about the glass strips on the table? The rules to always have perfect glass are...

1. One solid piece, the one strip, should never touch anything else, not even another glass. If they are to be touching, make sure to leave a gap, like 1/64"

2. When making the glass object, do not assign any material to any of the faces. Group the object and apply the material to the group only.

3. In Sketchup, you can name that material Glass (solid) or in Raylectron, change it to Glass (solid) to make sure it is a solid glass. The other type of glass are for single face glass, not solid.

I hope this fix your problem.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
Nick1
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 9:40 pm

Re: rendering

Post by Nick1 »

Yes I am talking about the glass strips. I had a similar design in another project which was a shower enclosure and I had a 9" clear solid glass at the bottom, 4 feet of frosted glass on top of the lower one and another 1'-3" of clear solid glass again on top of that one with no gap between them( total of 6 foot hi shower glass) and it rendered just fine as you see in the picture.Is it because the glass is curved at the ends?
Attachments
Bathroom7-16a.png
Bathroom7-16a.png (685.2 KiB) Viewed 2419 times
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2050
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: rendering

Post by Support »

Yes, the curvature makes more internal reflection than flat. Even in your example of the shower, we can not really see the bottom of the glass because when it touch another glass (or even non glass object), they occupy the exact same space, which is not possible in real life. In real life, if you have 2 glass touching, they are still separated with air, so when the photon enters the glass, it's trajectory is diffracted, it then bounce around and if it exit at the bottom and enter air, it is again diffracted, then it enters the next glass etc. that's what gives glass this unique properties of bending objects such as a straw in a glass of water. If you have the bottom of one glass occupying the same space as the top of the other glass, no gap, the photon enters, diffract, bounces around in both glass and exit at the wrong place. You will not get the real glass effect. Sometime you may, but it's random because in Raylectron, when the photon touch a surface and 2 surfaces exist at that spot, it can't decide which is first. The same is true when placing a glass on a wood table for example. At the bottom of the glass, when the photon exit, it exit into air then hit the wood and may bounce back into air then the glass. If the bottom of the glass occupy the same space as the top of the wood table, the photon never exit the glass, giving the wrong effect. I hope I'm making sense?
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2050
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: rendering

Post by Support »

Also, make sure that whatever is holding the glass doesn't touch the glass. Give it a 1/64" or even a 1/128" gap.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
Nick1
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 9:40 pm

Re: rendering

Post by Nick1 »

Ok. Thanks much for the explanation. Yes it does makes sense. Maybe I can get a better rendering with my shower glass enclosure then.

Thanks again.
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2050
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: rendering

Post by Support »

Not really, all you have to do is make sure nothing touch your glass strips.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
Nick1
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 9:40 pm

Re: rendering

Post by Nick1 »

I did that for the strips. I made a 1/64" gap between the strips and 1/128" between the glass and the table top and the bottom of the upper counter. still the same crazy effect!!
Attachments
glass strips.JPG
glass strips.JPG (210.27 KiB) Viewed 2415 times
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2050
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: rendering

Post by Support »

Weird, can you PM me your SKP file? Here is a super quick one I just did, the one on the left has no gap, the one on the right has 1/64" between the table and between both glass stip.
Attachments
2022-02-10_123420.png
2022-02-10_123420.png (4.74 MiB) Viewed 2414 times
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
Nick1
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 9:40 pm

Re: rendering

Post by Nick1 »

Here it is.
In real life we can have a glass panel that the surface is partly clear and partly sand blasted or foggy or frosted. You have seen glass panels in commercial buildings that have foggy or sand blasted strips on them. That's the effect I like to get but at the same time showing the thickness of the glass.

Oh, by the way, I have other glass options that are hidden/locked in the model. Could that be the culprit? since there are a couple of options occupying the same place, but one is hidden? I haven't made a gap on the hidden one.
Attachments
New Cash register area1.skp
(15.24 MiB) Downloaded 211 times
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2050
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: rendering

Post by Support »

I'm still checking...
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2050
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: rendering

Post by Support »

Something is weird with the glass strips. In Raylectron, when I zoom in to the strip and hover the mouse on it, it shows the material name at the bottom, it does show Glass but hovering slowly will also show there is another material, the Default material. I'm still trying to figure it out...
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2050
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: rendering

Post by Support »

I found the problem. It's your Scenes. Each one have a different copy of the glass strips and they are locked! So what happen is, Raylectron is trying to render through all of them, that's why it's so slow to render and why it looks so weird!!!
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2050
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: rendering

Post by Support »

So I went to Scene 5, clicked on the strips object and hide it, then I deleted the other strip objects, 2 of them, unhide the last object and it renders fine.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2050
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: rendering

Post by Support »

except you need to convert the glass into "Glass (solid)" in Raylectron or else it will be non-solid, just reflective.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2050
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: rendering

Post by Support »

So I've deleted all your scenes in SKP as they were not all updated differently. I added a ceiling light above the counter since all you had was a door in the back without a portal and it produced wrong illumination from /sun/sky so I only used the one artificial light, no sun/sky for this quick render.
Attachments
New Cash register area1 (1).jpg
New Cash register area1 (1).jpg (168.1 KiB) Viewed 2405 times
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
Nick1
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 9:40 pm

Re: rendering

Post by Nick1 »

So what I guessed was the culprit was right then> I mentioned I had a few copies of the glass with different configuration as far as the frosted and solid glass, but I hide the ones I didn't need and only rendered the one which was supposedly visible. So it was the other copies of the glass occupying the same space and the fact that there was no indirect lighting?
1- Also did you change anything on the glass as far as thickness? Do the frosted strips have the same thickness as solid glass strips?

2- I though once you hide something, it won't affect the outcome of your rendering and the program is supposed to render what is visible only! But I guess its not true, so if you have several versions of an items occupying the same space and you hide the ones you don't need for a specific render, the hidden ones might cause problems especially if they are out of glass. Am I understanding this correctly?

I think I'll delete all the glass options and just keep the strips and render it once without an interior light, and then once with interior lighting. I'll post later another image.

Many thanks as always.
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2050
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: rendering

Post by Support »

The thing is, when it's hidden in one scene but not the other, they will all be visible in Raylectron because all the scenes are exported. Scenes are used by the Animation video maker as a start/end camera movement, it's not going to re-index everything to hide/unhide stuff will the camera is going.

Hiding something will not show up in Raylectron unless they are also hidden in all scenes.

I didn't touch the geometry, simply convert it to Glass (solid) and apply 1 to the diffuse.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
Nick1
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 9:40 pm

Re: rendering

Post by Nick1 »

you wrote:
<I didn't touch the geometry, simply convert it to Glass (solid) and apply 1 to the diffuse.>

I see. I had also converted the clear glass sections to Glass(solid)!! and converted the other two sections to frosted glass.
Why did you apply 1 to the diffuse? Is that to make the glass looks brighter a bit?
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2050
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: rendering

Post by Support »

I converted all solid glass to "Glass (solid)" and applied 1 to diffuse for the frosted material to make it frosted. The frosted glass setting is not for solid glass. None of the glass settings are solid unless it say (solid) in its name.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
Nick1
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 9:40 pm

Re: rendering

Post by Nick1 »

Ok. Understood.
I just deleted all the other glass options and kept the strips version only and rendering is looking ok now. I didn't use the glass(solid)material for the frosted part. I created a new material called frosted glass and then in Raylectron converted my SU frosted glass material to Raylectron Frosted Glass. Am I doing it wrong?

I also used 1 for diffuse for the frosted glass and the rendering after only 30 seconds or so seems to be fine.
Attachments
render ok.png
render ok.png (1.3 MiB) Viewed 2399 times
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2050
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: rendering

Post by Support »

If you use the Frosted glass, it will not be solid so it won't look right. Convert it to Glass (solid) and set the diffuse to 1 which is the same setting as in Frosted glass. Or, convert it to Frosted glass and then set the IOR value to Glass which is going to make it solid while retaining the frosted settings.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
Post Reply