Images in Render

Raylectron (https://Raylectron.com) is a 3D rendering engine for Trimble Sketchup (https://sketchup.com)
Post Reply
User avatar
RayW
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2022 6:19 pm

Images in Render

Post by RayW »

How do you get images to appear from Sketchup to the render? Sometimes they are filled in with black, other times they don't appear at all?
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2050
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Images in Render

Post by Support »

Convert it to an object as oppose to leave it as a picture.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
RayW
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2022 6:19 pm

Re: Images in Render

Post by RayW »

I'm not sure how to do that?
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2050
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Images in Render

Post by Support »

Right click on it and select "Use as material". Delete it then recreate the rectangle and paint it, then group it. Raylectron do export these images, but they act different from jpg to png for example. What type is yours?
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
RayW
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2022 6:19 pm

Re: Images in Render

Post by RayW »

Support wrote: Tue Mar 15, 2022 5:10 pm Right click on it and select "Use as material". Delete it then recreate the rectangle and paint it, then group it. Raylectron do export these images, but they act different from jpg to png for example. What type is yours?
It was a png, the Chevrolet logo in fact on an engine rocker cover.
engine_cover.png
engine_cover.png (89.11 KiB) Viewed 748 times
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2050
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Images in Render

Post by Support »

ah, it should render just fine but the problem is, the picture occupy the exact same plane as the object it touches so move it away from it like, 1/64" otherwise, Raylectron will not know which is which. Better yet, paint the face with that picture instead of having it aa an overlay.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
RayW
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2022 6:19 pm

Re: Images in Render

Post by RayW »

Support wrote: Tue Mar 15, 2022 5:19 pm ah, it should render just fine but the problem is, the picture occupy the exact same plane as the object it touches so move it away from it like, 1/64" otherwise, Raylectron will not know which is which. Better yet, paint the face with that picture instead of having it aa an overlay.
I had to trace a line around the image, which I did before I read this :D It worked, by making the new surface and image a group as you said. Thank you
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2050
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Images in Render

Post by Support »

If it was a PNG with transparency, you wouldn't need to trace it, like the one on that page (the gray square means it's the transparency layer)...

https://pngset.com/download-free-png-pbhal
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
RayW
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2022 6:19 pm

Re: Images in Render

Post by RayW »

Thanks, I'll give that a try on my next project. 8-)
User avatar
RayW
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2022 6:19 pm

Re: Images in Render

Post by RayW »

G'day it's been a while I know. A few health issues had me down.

I am though now working on my newest project, a model of a car my wife and I owned and raced back in the 80s. So now my current problem is as before, a black back ground when placing the images (png) on surfaces, in this case curved. I did in fact try your method of moving them away by a 64th (.39mm), but the result is as before.
decal test.png
decal test.png (170.41 KiB) Viewed 561 times
I'll add the skp. test for you as well.
decal test.skp
(2.57 MiB) Downloaded 48 times
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2050
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Images in Render

Post by Support »

You must apply that texture to the back of the face in order to get transparency back out. Double click the face to open the group and click on the face to select it, look at the Sketchup Entity Info and you'll see that the front face is painted with the decal but the back face is painted black. Click on the black and change it to the decal and it will render properly.

I hope you're feeling better, not good getting sick.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
RayW
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2022 6:19 pm

Re: Images in Render

Post by RayW »

I'll give it a shot and thank you for your patience.

Getting better, I have a good team with me. Wife, ex nurse and youngest daughter, Air Force Doctor. :mrgreen:
Post Reply