Performance issue with new machine.

Raylectron (https://Raylectron.com) is a 3D rendering engine for Trimble Sketchup (https://sketchup.com)
onedustyone
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2022 12:59 am

Performance issue with new machine.

Post by onedustyone »

Hi folks, this is my first post to this forum, I'd appreciate some feedback. Just built new box, as follows:

i9-12900K CPU Air Cooled with giant Noctua NH-D15 twin tower/fan heatsink
ASRock Z690 Extreme WIFI 6E motherboard
32 GB G.Skill 3660 DDR4
1 TB Samsung 980 Pro M.2 NVME SSD
For now, just the Onboard graphics of the CPU (UHD 770)

Cinebench multi-core benchmark: 27512

This is my issue, see screenshot below. The renderer is using all 24 threads of the CPU, but only utilizing them at 39%, verified by the performance tab of Win10 task manager. Sometimes it will start and jump to 100% for no longer than 30 seconds, and the framerate is awesome when that happens, but most of the time it just hangs at 39%. What can I do to resolve this issue? Photo rendering was one of the main reasons I built this new box. My 3rd Gen i7-3770K with 4 cores/8 threads was giving me performance about equal to what I'm getting now, with 100% utilization of the i7 CPU. Cinebench was able to push the i9 to within 97% of TJMAX.

Image
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2086
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Performance issue with new machine.

Post by Support »

Hi,

I assume you are using the CPU version of Raylectron not the GPU version? Also, are you using v4.99 build 17?

The screen shot did not make it, did you use the "Upload" button to include it?
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
onedustyone
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2022 12:59 am

Re: Performance issue with new machine.

Post by onedustyone »

I'm not sure how to attach an image.

This is the link

https://photos.google.com/photo/AF1QipP ... ru9xZ8a11P
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2086
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Performance issue with new machine.

Post by Support »

The link say 404 Not Found. You can attach any files by going to the bottom of the message window, there are 2 tabs, Options and Attachments, click Attachments and then Add Files.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
onedustyone
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2022 12:59 am

screenshot of issue

Post by onedustyone »

I uploaded it as a file, (I hope)
Raylectron Screenshot.jpg
Raylectron Screenshot.jpg (579.55 KiB) Viewed 2816 times
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2086
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Performance issue with new machine.

Post by Support »

Can you expend the CPU view to show each threads as oppose to overall?
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
onedustyone
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2022 12:59 am

Re: Performance issue with new machine.

Post by onedustyone »

Yes. Display of core values by HWINFO64. Looks like only the efficiency cores of the CPU are being used (8 threads), and none of the performance cores (16 threads).
Raylectron Screenshot 2.jpg
Raylectron Screenshot 2.jpg (696.89 KiB) Viewed 2812 times
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2086
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Performance issue with new machine.

Post by Support »

I see that, do you use v4.99 build 17?
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
onedustyone
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2022 12:59 am

Re: Performance issue with new machine.

Post by onedustyone »

Yes. Check for updates reports "Up to Date". I checked the version as well, and it say V4.99, Build 17. You can't see it in the screenshot, but it's showing 24 threads in use.
Last edited by onedustyone on Sat Mar 19, 2022 12:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2086
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Performance issue with new machine.

Post by Support »

Can you run msconfig then click on Boot and then Advanced Options, how many processors does it show in the Number of Processors box?
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
onedustyone
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2022 12:59 am

Re: Performance issue with new machine.

Post by onedustyone »

I ran MSConfig Boot options and it was showing 1 processor. Will return to forum after I restart machine and check Raylectron again.
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2086
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Performance issue with new machine.

Post by Support »

ok, and I assume your BIOS is UEFI enabled?
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2086
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Performance issue with new machine.

Post by Support »

In Task Manager, go to Details and right click on Raylectron.exe and go to Set Affinity, are all the 24 checkboxes checked?
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
onedustyone
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2022 12:59 am

Re: Performance issue with new machine.

Post by onedustyone »

Yes. BIOS is UEFI enabled. I applied the changes to MSConfig and rebooted, and when I started the rendering it was pegging all 24 cores, but only for about 20 seconds, and then it dropped the 16 "performance" threads, to look like 2nd screenshot.
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2086
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Performance issue with new machine.

Post by Support »

So at first it was using close to 100% the CPU and then dropped?
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
onedustyone
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2022 12:59 am

Re: Performance issue with new machine.

Post by onedustyone »

All 24 checkboxes ARE checked. It was using 98% and then dropped after about 20 seconds. Subsequent restarts of Raylectron will only start at the 39% level.
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2086
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Performance issue with new machine.

Post by Support »

ok, then there is something in the model that makes a thread get stuck. What are your render settings? or if you can PM me the ROF file, the CFG file and the corresponding texture folder, I can test it. Does it do this with all models?
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
onedustyone
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2022 12:59 am

Re: Performance issue with new machine.

Post by onedustyone »

I don't know if I attached the files correctly. It seems to be acting the same with any model. Have attached the one you have been seeing in my screenshots.

It didn't work for me. Tell me how to get you the files.
Last edited by onedustyone on Sat Mar 19, 2022 2:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2086
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Performance issue with new machine.

Post by Support »

No it did not make it, perhaps put them all in a zip file first.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
onedustyone
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2022 12:59 am

Re: Performance issue with new machine.

Post by onedustyone »

Zip file attached, hopefully.
Onedustyone Model.zip
The model you've been seeing in my screenshots.
(5.29 MiB) Downloaded 152 times
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2086
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Performance issue with new machine.

Post by Support »

Yes it did, let me check it out...
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2086
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Performance issue with new machine.

Post by Support »

No problem with your model, it runs on all 32 threads on mine, nonstop, still running as I type. Been more 5 min. That CPU of yours is different, 16 cores 24 threads not 32 threads. I wonder if there are any special settings for it? When it drops, does it ever pick up? or does it keep on getting lower? I wonder if it's because the CPU is getting too hot and it automatically disable some threads? Maybe look at your temperature monitor and check what it is before you start the render and monitor it see if it goes too high and at that time the threads used drop?
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
onedustyone
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2022 12:59 am

Re: Performance issue with new machine.

Post by onedustyone »

The Intel 12th generation processors are a different animal. 1st 8 cores are "performance" cores, and hyperthreaded (16 threads). 2nd 8 cores are "efficiency" cores, are single threaded, and run at lesser frequency than the "performance cores". According to HWINFO64, there is no thermal issue with the CPU. Once it drops, at that level it stays. CPU temp is around 70c at the time it drops. CPU TJmax is 100. Like I said in my first post, Cinebench pushed the temps up to 97c. HWINFO64 did not report any thermal throttling. CPU IS NOT OVERHEATING, or HWINFO64 would report PROCHOT as triggered. I guess I could try the scary disabling of the CPU Package Sensors in the Bios and see if that helps. Ah, the joys of being on the "cutting edge". I need to try to figure this out.
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2086
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Performance issue with new machine.

Post by Support »

ah, efficiency cores. You may want to look at this because Win10 (I suppose you run Win10) may not schedule these cores fully.

https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/107 ... -10-a.html
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 2086
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Performance issue with new machine.

Post by Support »

The way Raylectron make use of all threads, it first get the CPU count, for each, it check the group count and for each, it check the thread count. It then uses all listed by Windows. After that, it's all Windows management of the threads, it's no longer Raylectron.
Your support team.
http://SoftByteLabs.com
Post Reply