Is there a fake emitter setting?

Raylectron (https://Raylectron.com) is a 3D rendering engine for Trimble Sketchup (https://sketchup.com)
Post Reply
Okwa
Posts: 534
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2023 1:34 am

Is there a fake emitter setting?

Post by Okwa »

Good evening. :D
A question: I would like to make the displays at the back of the image more visible. In other rendering programs I had set to "fake emitters" so that the displays light up without it having any influence on the surroundings. This way the displays would be more visible, but the rendering time would not be affected.
Is there a setting option on Raylectron that allows a similar? Because even with Beam Kind set to None or Area Adjustment of 0.00 there still seems to be an influence on the environment. Or am I just imagining it?
Attachments
engineering department Energy core.jpg
engineering department Energy core.jpg (317.52 KiB) Viewed 10840 times
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3074
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Is there a fake emitter setting?

Post by Support »

Good morning :)

Fake emitter is just a fancy word for "make brighter" and all it does is change the color to a brighter one. You can do the same by clicking on the color icon and change the B (black) setting at the bottom and it will make it brighter. If you convert it to a light, set the Area Adjustment to its minimum (minus not zero) and power to 35 and it will have no impact on the illumination as its area will be near zero, but this will still count as a light and will treat it as such.
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
Okwa
Posts: 534
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2023 1:34 am

Re: Is there a fake emitter setting?

Post by Okwa »

Support wrote: Sat Mar 25, 2023 11:50 am Good morning :)

Fake emitter is just a fancy word for "make brighter" and all it does is change the color to a brighter one. You can do the same by clicking on the color icon and change the B (black) setting at the bottom and it will make it brighter. If you convert it to a light, set the Area Adjustment to its minimum (minus not zero) and power to 35 and it will have no impact on the illumination as its area will be near zero, but this will still count as a light and will treat it as such.
Thanks for the tip. :salute Unfortunately, the B setting is already set to bright, so I can't make it brighter. And the suggested light setting doesn't have the effect I'm thinking of. But with a little experimenting, I was able to get, more or less, exactly the effect I wanted, even if only with the smaller display. It didn't have the same effect on the large display, but that's a problem of the viewing angle.
Attachments
engineering department Energy core 2.jpg
engineering department Energy core 2.jpg (308.95 KiB) Viewed 10837 times
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3074
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Is there a fake emitter setting?

Post by Support »

It looks like the scene is way oversaturated. That makes the displays look dull. Whatever light you have on the ceiling is/are way too bright in my opinion. It's like looking at a flashlight at the sun and think the batteries are near depleted, that's the effect your displays have. :|
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
Okwa
Posts: 534
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2023 1:34 am

Re: Is there a fake emitter setting?

Post by Okwa »

Support wrote: Sat Mar 25, 2023 12:59 pm It looks like the scene is way oversaturated. That makes the displays look dull. Whatever light you have on the ceiling is/are way too bright in my opinion. It's like looking at a flashlight at the sun and think the batteries are near depleted, that's the effect your displays have. :|
You're right. I should turn the power setting down, maybe to 35. Here it was at 60. The lamp model is otherwise exactly the same that I used in the picture of my bridge.
Or the area adjustment. I always orientate myself with the area adjustment on the square metre indication below and try to hit the square metres of the respective room.
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3074
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Is there a fake emitter setting?

Post by Support »

The way the render works is the power times the area. The area adjustment is to change the softness. The higher the area the softer the shadows. 35 is considered as 1, it is internally (power/35) * (area + adjustment). Like a flashlight for example, it has a small area but a high power, not giving any shadows. A ceiling area light for example, has low power but large area so the shadows are very soft.
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
Okwa
Posts: 534
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2023 1:34 am

Re: Is there a fake emitter setting?

Post by Okwa »

Support wrote: Sun Mar 26, 2023 10:42 am The way the render works is the power times the area. The area adjustment is to change the softness. The higher the area the softer the shadows. 35 is considered as 1, it is internally (power/35) * (area + adjustment). Like a flashlight for example, it has a small area but a high power, not giving any shadows. A ceiling area light for example, has low power but large area so the shadows are very soft.
The result with 35 :D
Attachments
engineering department Energy core.jpg
engineering department Energy core.jpg (284.41 KiB) Viewed 10828 times
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3074
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Is there a fake emitter setting?

Post by Support »

ok, this looks washed out. Is it possible if you can PM me the SKP model so I can git it a try and then share with you everything I'm sure I can turn it to be nicely rendered.
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
Okwa
Posts: 534
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2023 1:34 am

Re: Is there a fake emitter setting?

Post by Okwa »

Support wrote: Sun Mar 26, 2023 12:29 pm ok, this looks washed out. Is it possible if you can PM me the SKP model so I can git it a try and then share with you everything I'm sure I can turn it to be nicely rendered.
I think the washed out effect comes from the fact that there are two transparent walls between the camera and the objects to be seen. Practically two panes of glass, no rather four panes of glass, because a wall has two sides. :D
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3074
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Is there a fake emitter setting?

Post by Support »

ah, you should use Section Cuts instead of making the wall transparent. The camera will see through the section cuts. Or use the x-ray in the Render settings.
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
Okwa
Posts: 534
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2023 1:34 am

Re: Is there a fake emitter setting?

Post by Okwa »

Support wrote: Sun Mar 26, 2023 1:03 pm ah, you should use Section Cuts instead of making the wall transparent. The camera will see through the section cuts. Or use the x-ray in the Render settings.
This is a misunderstanding. The glass walls are not there so that the camera can "see through the walls". There are transparent walls for story reasons. :D
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3074
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Is there a fake emitter setting?

Post by Support »

oh ok :salute
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
Post Reply