Making a video in Raylectron

Raylectron (https://Raylectron.com) is a 3D rendering engine for Trimble Sketchup (https://sketchup.com)
User avatar
GateGirl86
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2022 8:32 pm

Making a video in Raylectron

Post by GateGirl86 »

This is something I've been wanting to do, with a few of my models. So I need to ask, is there a tutorial guide for doing so, available?
Image
"Come with me if you want to live."
Sarah Connor
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by Support »

Can you be more specific please, I do not know what "This is something I've been wanting to do" refers to?
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
GateGirl86
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2022 8:32 pm

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by GateGirl86 »

Maybe not as elaborate as this, my friend made this for me back in 011.



I was just wondering if it was a possibility to create something. I know a lot of modelers using software like Maya and Blender do so.
Image
"Come with me if you want to live."
Sarah Connor
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by Support »

Maya and Blender are 3D modeler like Sketchup and capable of object animation. Raylectron just a render and is static and only the camera can be animated, along with sun/sky and clouds settings. Plus, this is all done on the GPU and Raylectron v6 will have that capability to make such videos with object animation.

In Raylectron, you could animate the camera to make the ship look like it's going or coming but that's about it for now.
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
GateGirl86
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2022 8:32 pm

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by GateGirl86 »

Going and coming would be fine! How would I do that? :mrgreen:
Image
"Come with me if you want to live."
Sarah Connor
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by Support »

In Raylectron, position the camera for the start frame, like behind it and up close, then add a new scene from the Toolbar. Then move the camera out, like zoom out, so the ship is farther away and then add a new scene. Then go to the Animation settings and set the Transition time, like 10 sec. Set the number of samples per frames, like 10, then save the animation, it'll take a long time on your laptop.
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
GateGirl86
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2022 8:32 pm

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by GateGirl86 »

:salute merci Michael, I will try that out in the morning after my shift :mrgreen:
Image
"Come with me if you want to live."
Sarah Connor
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by Support »

:salute
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
GateGirl86
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2022 8:32 pm

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by GateGirl86 »

One question, can you change the camera distance manually in the side bar (camera) without scrolling? Because that just takes forever to react
Image
"Come with me if you want to live."
Sarah Connor
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by Support »

No because you can only use the X,Y,Z in the camera settings.

When you scroll with the mouse, use the shift key to make it scroll much more.
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
GateGirl86
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2022 8:32 pm

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by GateGirl86 »

Followed directions. When I saved the animation, Raylectron is switched off? Is that normal. As in all I can do, is open and close the window via the tab. All the control tabs are now grey
Image
"Come with me if you want to live."
Sarah Connor
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by Support »

yes it's normal since it's saving the animation frames one at a time so you can't change settings while it's doing that.
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
GateGirl86
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2022 8:32 pm

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by GateGirl86 »

Ah, so I guess it will take a while :roll: :lol:
Image
"Come with me if you want to live."
Sarah Connor
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by Support »

it should tell you in the taskbar how long it will take.
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
GateGirl86
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2022 8:32 pm

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by GateGirl86 »

32 mins left. :salute
Image
"Come with me if you want to live."
Sarah Connor
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by Support »

What's the make/model of your GPU?
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by Support »

I started working on object animations and it's working good so far. This 10 sec video is in draft mode only and took 5 min to render, 1 sample per frames only. But just to show that it's working. The camera is still, just rotates a bit as the ship goes by. Now I have to think of a way for the user to select the object, set its trajectory, rotation and speed along a line and it won't have to be straight as I have it now. But when done, it's gonna be a lot of fun, moving planets and asteroids etc :salute
.
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
GateGirl86
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2022 8:32 pm

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by GateGirl86 »

I don't know how to find that. If it was on the old Windows I would, but Win 11 confuses the hell out of me :lol:

Video isn't working on my end?
Image
"Come with me if you want to live."
Sarah Connor
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by Support »

Click on the icon at the top right corner to see the video.

Launch the Settings app through the Start menu. From the side menu, select System and then Display. Under Related settings, select Advanced display. You can see your GPU make and model under the Display information tab.
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
GateGirl86
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2022 8:32 pm

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by GateGirl86 »

:mrgreen: that video was damned awesome! Now you'll have to show me exactly how to do that. I made one yesterday, it was sort of okay. :lol:

Got it. Intel UHD 630
Image
"Come with me if you want to live."
Sarah Connor
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by Support »

oh will make a video to show how to use it. Still working on it and then the GUI.

Your GPU is no good for rendering :shock:
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
GateGirl86
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2022 8:32 pm

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by GateGirl86 »

That would be fabulous.

I know, but it does work.....eventually. I think later this year we can see our way to buying our own. I want a decent desktop though, not a laptop.
Image
"Come with me if you want to live."
Sarah Connor
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by Support »

a PC is way faster than a laptop for rendering. When you're ready to get one, let me know what you think on getting and I can let you know if it's any good for the price and suggest changes for p[timal speed.
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
User avatar
GateGirl86
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2022 8:32 pm

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by GateGirl86 »

I certainly will be doing that. Neither Charlie nor I know much about them, other than using one. :lol:
Image
"Come with me if you want to live."
Sarah Connor
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Making a video in Raylectron

Post by Support »

:salute
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
Post Reply