New function in animator
Re: New function in animator
Not necessarily. In animations, things moves and things get obscured or become visible, with shine, transparency, reflections etc. that the render has to do more or less, affecting the speed. For example, if you have a huge crystal ball but it's off the screen when it starts to render, and then it starts to become visible, it will start to slow down because a crystal ball has a lot of reflections and refractions and, rays bouncing back and forth inside of it. It skips all that in Draft mode, that's why draft mode is faster.
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
https://SoftByteLabs.com
- GateGirl86
- Posts: 738
- Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2022 8:32 pm
Re: New function in animator
I did the draft mode, that took only 24 mins. But I wanted to see how the quality would be on a finished video.

"Come with me if you want to live."
Sarah Connor
Re: New function in animator
Is this what you want to do? Don't be scared of the script

Code: Select all
Units := Feet;
Distance := 32.0;
Duration := 10.0;
StartAt := 1.0;
EndAt := Duration + StartAt;
py := Velocity(0, Distance, StartAt, EndAt);
Duration2 := 20.0;
StartAt2 := 5.0;
EndAt2 := Duration2 + StartAt2;
yaw(-90, StartAt2, EndAt2);
CamRotZ := -rz / 3.5;
Distance3 := 10.0;
Duration3 := 3.0;
StartAt3 := EndAt2;
EndAt3 := Duration3 + StartAt3;
if (sec >= EndAt2) and (sec <= EndAt3) then begin
py := py - Velocity(0, Distance3, StartAt3, EndAt3);
CamRotX := -py / 20;
end;
if sec > EndAt3 then
py := 0;
CamPosY := py * 0.96;
Distance4 := 450.0;
Duration4 := 5.0;
StartAt4 := EndAt3 + 3.0;
EndAt4 := Duration4 + StartAt4;
cnt := 0.0;
if (sec >= StartAt4) then begin
py := Velocity(0, Distance4, StartAt4, EndAt4);
CamPosY := py / 1.3;
if cnt < 10 then begin
CamRotX := -0.03;
CamRotZ := 0.05;
cnt := cnt + 1;
end;
end;
Duration5 := 5.0;
StartAt5 := EndAt4;
EndAt5 := Duration5 + StartAt5;
Pitch(20, StartAt5, EndAt5);
if (sec >= StartAt5) and (sec <= EndAt5) then
CamDirX := rx / 2.0;
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
https://SoftByteLabs.com
- GateGirl86
- Posts: 738
- Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2022 8:32 pm
Re: New function in animator
Yes exactly. After that I would have to do another of it entering space, then cut the two together.
I need to ask, how long should this take? I came to the computer this morning and its still showing 25 hours remaining?
I need to ask, how long should this take? I came to the computer this morning and its still showing 25 hours remaining?


"Come with me if you want to live."
Sarah Connor
Re: New function in animator
I was thinking on doing a come-back and land but didn't.
Can you send me a screen shot of your Raylectron window? I really can't answer by not seeing it

Can you send me a screen shot of your Raylectron window? I really can't answer by not seeing it

Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
https://SoftByteLabs.com
- GateGirl86
- Posts: 738
- Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2022 8:32 pm
Re: New function in animator
Take off is easy, landing not so.


"Come with me if you want to live."
Sarah Connor
Re: New function in animator
Your settings are good, but 4 CPU threads isn't much and it's a laptop too, plus 30 lights. The video I mad above took 40 min and I have 16 threads, no lights. Animations will always require a powerful PC.
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
https://SoftByteLabs.com
- GateGirl86
- Posts: 738
- Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2022 8:32 pm
Re: New function in animator
I cut the lights down from 119. And it will be quite some time before I can get a better PC. I noticed I can alter the threads to 8, would that help?

"Come with me if you want to live."
Sarah Connor
Re: New function in animator
Making it more than what you actually have will only result in sharing, no speed increase.
right now...
1 -> 100%
2 -> 100%
3 -> 100%
4 -> 100%
= 400
but if you set it to 8...
1 (1) -> 50%
1 (2) -> 50%
2 (1) -> 50%
2 (2) -> 50%
3 (1) -> 50%
3 (2) -> 50%
4 (1) -> 50%
4 (2) -> 50%
= 400
right now...
1 -> 100%
2 -> 100%
3 -> 100%
4 -> 100%
= 400
but if you set it to 8...
1 (1) -> 50%
1 (2) -> 50%
2 (1) -> 50%
2 (2) -> 50%
3 (1) -> 50%
3 (2) -> 50%
4 (1) -> 50%
4 (2) -> 50%
= 400
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
https://SoftByteLabs.com
- GateGirl86
- Posts: 738
- Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2022 8:32 pm
Re: New function in animator
Ah....I may have to give this video thing a miss for a while. At least until I can get a decent computer. For while it's running, it is stopping me from doing other things. I had so much hope. 


"Come with me if you want to live."
Sarah Connor
Re: New function in animator
It would be way faster in Draft mode, just the water will not be rendered but it's at nighttime anyway.
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
https://SoftByteLabs.com
- GateGirl86
- Posts: 738
- Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2022 8:32 pm
Re: New function in animator
Would the final video be good quality? Would the lights still work?

"Come with me if you want to live."
Sarah Connor
Re: New function in animator
Yes but no lights as lights takes on a lot more rendering time!
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
https://SoftByteLabs.com
- GateGirl86
- Posts: 738
- Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2022 8:32 pm
Re: New function in animator
Last question. Can I switch to draft now, or do I have to start all over?

"Come with me if you want to live."
Sarah Connor
Re: New function in animator
If you can zip up the files, the ROF, the CFG and the _Texture folder, I'd see how long it would take on my PC?
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
https://SoftByteLabs.com
Re: New function in animator
If you switch the draft, it will need to restart.
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
https://SoftByteLabs.com
- GateGirl86
- Posts: 738
- Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2022 8:32 pm
Re: New function in animator
Would you? I'll see if I can do that. It's been a while since I've done any zipping. 


"Come with me if you want to live."
Sarah Connor
- GateGirl86
- Posts: 738
- Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2022 8:32 pm
Re: New function in animator
That was easier than I thought.

"Come with me if you want to live."
Sarah Connor
Re: New function in animator
2 hours to render on my PC.
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
https://SoftByteLabs.com
- GateGirl86
- Posts: 738
- Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2022 8:32 pm
Re: New function in animator
Crikey! is that all? Oh am so going annoy Charlie for that new computer!
And thank you so much Michael 




"Come with me if you want to live."
Sarah Connor
Re: New function in animator



You should, what kind on SG1 is this with a 4 threads laptop


Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
https://SoftByteLabs.com
- GateGirl86
- Posts: 738
- Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2022 8:32 pm