Default ground material grass

Raylectron (https://Raylectron.com) is a 3D rendering engine for Trimble Sketchup (https://sketchup.com)
Post Reply
SimonRay
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 6:22 am

Default ground material grass

Post by SimonRay »

Hi,

After a busy few years, I dusted off Sketchup 17 and downloaded Raylectron. Wow, a lot as changed since version 4.

I am trying to set the default ground material to be grass, but I am having a few issues.

1. Upon loading up Raylectron from Sketchup, I cannot convert the default ground material to be grass. I have to first convert it to Sea Waves, set the material back to it's default, and then convert it grass.

2. Once I have default ground material converted to grass, no grass/fur strands are rendered.
tmp.png
tmp.png (1.75 MiB) Viewed 7338 times
Seeking any advice.

Kind regards
User avatar
Support
Site Admin
Posts: 3183
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Default ground material grass

Post by Support »

Great to see that you're at it now :)

Yes, a lot has changed since v4.

Do not make the ground as grass because it's an infinite ground so you'll need way too many grass blades to cover even just a small area.

What you can do is use the Assets and load the Grass asset instead. Then define the area you want grass on, it can be very large as the grass is a small patch that will be instances thousands of times (default 100). Just keep on adding instances until it looks all covered and full.
Your support team.
https://SoftByteLabs.com
SimonRay
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 6:22 am

Re: Default ground material grass

Post by SimonRay »

Thank you.
Post Reply