How to make realistic renderings

Raylectron (https://Raylectron.com) is a 3D rendering engine for Trimble Sketchup (https://sketchup.com)
smartineau

How to make realistic renderings

Post by smartineau »

Hi,
I am new to Raylectron and still havn't purchased my license yet as I want to make sure the software will suit my needs.
I am primarily going to be working on interior renderings, with some windows and was hoping to get some guidelines for render output settings for as realisistic renderings as possible.
I have already gone through the forum and watched the videos and havn't really found what I'm looking for.

-What are the best lighting combination for interiors and should I be using path tracing or photon tracing for realistic renders?
- The the render continue until I stop it? or will it eventually max out at the best quality? I'm not to concerned with time- but a guideline of what too expect would be great.
-Is there a suggested amount of samples that I should be aiming for?

I've set up my slaves and they seem to be working well so far. I really appreciated the forum feed on guidlines on who to make your own materials- ie. shiny metals and floors. These general guidelines save a lot of time and allow me to focus on the design rather than making the material. I have to say I am happy with the software, it is easy to use, I'm just looking for some general guidelines (similar to the material feed) when setting up the renders.

I have attached a render I worked on today- I'm ok with the final product, I like the shower glass and mirror, but find it doesn't look very realistic.
There also seems to be some noise in the background.

The settings I used were:
This render was about 30 minutes
artificial light, sunlight and day light checked. (the sun was turned on in sketchup before I rendered)
Fast shadows was checked
direct illumination was checked.
Any thoughts on how to improve?
Attachments
Bathroom_model_test.jpg